Thursday, Apr. 03, 2003

My new step-mom

So yesterday was the wedding. I got my days mixed up some how and then flustered when I realized it.

It really helped that my grandma loves to drag out mistakes and laugh while she tells everyone she can.

Anyhoo, they decided to get married in the middle of Wichita's main attraction...you ready for this?

Cow Town.

Freakin Cow Town.... for those who don't know, Cow Town is Wichita's remake of what a group of businessmen believe little "cow towns" looked like in the 1800's. Complete with an indoor bathroom, and running water in stainless steel pipes, oh yeah, and a gift shop for all your Cow Town Souviner needs. Everyone needs soap in the shape of a Covered Wagon...

My dad and now step-mother were married in the tiny, unair-conditioned, cramped, tiny, tiny, church.

I was taped and safety pinned into the top of my best man's dress, I took a deep breath earlier that morning and lost a button, the trademark Kansas wind had all but flattened my hair and my shoes pinched my foot so bad my butt was turning blue.

After 60 degree and kinda windy on Tuesday, God decided that it should be 88 and super duper, puper, extra stinkin windy for this special day.

Sarcasim aside, it was a nice, semi quiet ceremony.

It was only semi quiet because dad had the little stereo cranked up so loud I could have probably heard it here at home.

Kim walked down the isle to The King's "Can't Help Falling in Love", yeah so I cried, it was a nice moment.

Then we all just stood there as this song by Tim McGraw went about about being more than a lover, which I have to say I had to stiffle some giggles, who play a song like this front of their holyer than thou mother and sister??

I think mister man was thinkin with the wrong head again.

So then David ( a former Sheriff buddy of my dad's who is now a minister in New Mexico) went through all that marrying them stuff, I did my job and handed out the rings, sniffled a bit more, and then they left with Randy Travis playing.

We then went to Picadilly's for the lunch reception thingymagigger they had.

Dude, say free food and you get a load of cops.

Most of the people there were from Dad's work.

I didn't eat anything cause all the food looked like they had put some weird spices on it and I don't take my chances with spices. Some days I can' even handle pepper, let alone all the weird stuff they had all over everything.

Their wedding cake was chocolate and for being from one of those foo foo cake places, it was fairly good.

Ashely ran around like a little banchee on speed, but Megan was pretty good.

Before the afternoon was over, I lost another button, but had an extra safty pin to stick it back on with, and the shoes were only wore long enough for pictures and then they came off.

I still have some mixed emotions, but they're not tugging at me so much anymore.

I'm actually starting to be more positive about the whole thing.

Who knows, maybe my dad figured something out this time...

Instead of finding out all her flaws and letting her take place as head bitch, he married her first.

So if she works like Krysti did, they have like a year or so before she shows her true colors...

There were all kinds of omens around his wedding to Krysti... but I didn't really see any here.

It may be the whole wedding thing touching the female piece of my heart clouding my vision, but it kinda seems like things could turn out ok.

harlemrain at 11:15 pm

previous | next