Tuesday, Nov. 09, 2004

Epiphany in the midst of Flappers and Prohibition

I did what I could do.

I took all kinds of notes, stared at computers and books for 36 hours.

My paragraphs aren't written, but I have an idea of how they'll go.

I may still take notes from another book or two, but I have a stack of papers close to 1/4 of an inch thick that show my dedication to this paper... rededication if you will.

Usually not having my work done would have me in a fit, going nuts, throwing up, and ulcering. Instead I realize that sometimes things don't happen like they're "supposed to".

If my teacher wants to shame me, so be it. I doubt he will though, if anything I'll bet you money he's going ot set time aside after his lecture for people to get together and edit.

Should I be so lucky for that to happen, I can either work on my paper or slip out and come home to start my next marathon for tomorrow's homework.

I had every intention of getting my rough draft done, but for a while I had serious doubts about this paper being worth anything. When I finally realized I was at a point where I had to either take a break for the night or snap (again), because nothing was making sense anymore, I took a moment to sort out my notes so I could start trying to visualize a thesis. As I sorted all my hand written and printed notes I realized I had more strong sources with valid information than I realized.

So basically I can see this paper working out, but I've also realized I'm human and need sleep and have other things going. It will get done, and this is not procrastionation (for once).

This is me, as a grown up, saying I can do it, but not all at once.

If any of that makes sense.

harlemrain at 3:11 am

previous | next