Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2004

Memories: Elvis, daddy, and me

Thought I often get looks, groans, or not so nice or even not so intelligent comments, I will proudly say that I�m an Elvis fan.

I�m a fan of the music that spans over decades and continues to top charts around the world, the voice that�s one of the few that can actually calm me down and make me feel safe like a cashmere blanket or a tight embrace. The voice that cried out with a rugged edge in rock songs, soothed and crooned in love songs, and comforted as he sang praises to God. The voice than could sing a million songs perfectly and clearly showed that it�s owner had a pure love of music.

The musician turned actor, only to be trapped into some rather cheesy (I love em all though and besides before you make fun of his movies, have you ever seen J. Lo�s movies??) films that brought him ridicule from outsiders. If you want to see his more impressive work I suggest Love Me Tender (his first film), Flaming Star, Jailhouse Rock and Stay Away Joe. My all time favorites are probably Jailhouse Rock, Follow That Dream, Stay Away Joe, and of course, Viva Las Vegas.

The man who lived a lavish and sometimes hectic lifestyle, but still gave to others. The man who was so generous he had almost literately given away everything he owned to friends and strangers because he cared so much about people. The man, who loved his momma, missed his ex-wife and loved her until the day he died, treasured his daughter, and opened his house to his friends, made fans feel like part of his family.

Whether you like him or not, he deserves respect for all he did for music and American culture.

It�s obvious there will never be another person like Elvis Presley.

I can remember wishing I had a southern accent when I was little cause Elvis� sounded so cool in the old interviews I�d see on all of my dads old tapes.

When I think of Elvis Presley, I automatically associate him with my dad. My dad has been an Elvis fanatic since he was a little boy. He remembers being 13 years old and crying for two weeks when he found out his idol has passed away in 1977.

A lot of my memories are intertwined with Elvis songs, happy and sad.

I�m pretty sure I was born knowing his music, that�s how present it was in our home and really any home my dad lives in. He�s tamed in his old age, he respects and realizes not everyone loves Elvis like he does, so the records are safely tucked away in storage, the cds neatly stored in the cd rack, and the movies put up until he has a free moment on his own to feel nostalgic. But you can�t help but notice the presence of an Elvis fan in my father�s home.

I remember being really young, maybe three or four and seeing his 68� Comeback special for the first time ever on TV.

It was the first time I ever hear �If I Can Dream�, which remains one of my favorite songs of all time to this day. I remember noticing that I hadn�t seen Elvis dance with black and Hispanic girls before and I thought it was cool. Their costumes swirled as the moved it bright reds, pinks, and oranges.

I next remember my dad playing a lot of the �later� Elvis stuff from the 70�s when things were coming to an end with he and my mom.

Mom was still working nights to avoid him and even though I didn�t consciously know it, I knew my parents were splitting up, it was inevitable.

One evening sticks outs to me. I was 6.

My dad was taking pictures of everything that was �his�, he told me it was for insurance purposes, but now I suspect it was to claim it before my mom could, he had all his Elvis music out and was play �Kentucky Rain�, �Memories�, �You Were Always on my Mind�, and the one that still strikes me the most �Don�t Cry Daddy�

He played this one song over and over that night. Finally he finished his pictures and sat down in the front room looking over some other things. I sat with him, feeling lost if he was out of my sight for more than a few seconds.

The song replayed again and again and during one rotation I realized my dad was sniffling.

I looked up at him and saw tears in his eyes as he sang along softly.

I couldn�t figure out why he was crying, but didn�t feel right asking so I started listening to the words�

Don't cry daddy/ Daddy, please don't cry/ Daddy, you've still got me and little Tommy/ Together we'll find a brand new mommy/ Daddy, daddy, please laugh again/ Daddy ride us on your back again/ Oh, daddy, please don't cry��

I had never heard such a sad song before, such sad words, even the music sounded sad.

I moved a little closer to my dad, not sure what to do. As the next chorus started he cried harder and dropped the things he was messing with and pulled me into a tight hug, rocking us both.


Why are children always first/ To feel the pain and hurt the worst/ It's true, but somehow /It just don't seem right / 'Cause ev'ry time I cry I know/ It hurts my little children so/ I wonder will it be the same tonight��


He slowly released his embrace as the last repeat of the chorus faded out. He kissed my head and got up to get something from the other room.

I remember starting to cry as I realized my parents were going to get divorced. My family as I knew it, was over.

I still sob like that lost little girl when I hear this song and won�t listen to it unless I�m completely by myself and feel I can handle the emotions that rush through me.

For my ninth birthday, my dad took me (and my first step-mom) on a trip to Memphis Tennessee and more importantly, Graceland.

I remember walking into the tall, white, mansion and feeling like I was walking into a completely different world in another time.

It�s a beautiful house, if you�re ever passing through I highly recommend taking a quick tour of it, even if you�re not a big Elvis fan, just go see this magnificent house.

I adsorbed everything my nine year old mine could, but sometimes wish I would have paid more attention to some things.

I got my chance years later when I lived with him through High School.

Though the general consensus of my life in high school is bleak and rather unhappy, I did have some of the best moments with my daddy. When left alone he and I had several talks I remember. It was usually while watching TV. We watched a lot of music documentaries, action movies, and a lot of Elvis stuff. I learned a lot about him, and the person he was when he was a young kid.

Once I actually got him to open up and share what Elvis and his music meant to him, why he loved it so much.

Another time he admitted being surprised to find out that I actually loved Elvis, his music, his legacy, and everything involved for the pure fact that I loved it, not just to get along with him. He was thrilled to find that out. After that he started sharing things with me all the time.

My senior year of high school he wanted to do something special with me and since I had never seen the holiday lights at Graceland, we decided that the two of us would take another trip during my brief break from School in January. We packed up Iggy and headed out in the wee hours of Thursday morning.

Of all the trips I�ve ever taken, I�d probably have to say that one had the most impact on me. I learned things about my father, my self, one of my idols, the history of music, life� it was a packed four days.

I hadn�t been as happy as I was there, with my daddy, in years. I saw the coolest museum in the world (The Rock and Soul museum), found what felt like my calling in the world, saw an amazing city, and in a few instances felt what it might have been like decades ago. Really that trip could be a whole entry in itself.

I sit here now listening to my Elvis cds, and feel all these memories, old times, and emotions come flooding back and it amazes me. It�s like somehow I forget about all this stuff, I keep it tucked away, deep in the back of my heart until I hear a few familiar opening notes and a few lines of a song I�ve known forever.

If you�ve made it this far, I thank you for taking this little trip down memory lane with me. If you�re a fan, however major or not, please feel free to drop me a line, I�d love to hear from you.

My cd has ended signaling that I must return to the real world of homework, school, and stress, but before I go, one last song from The King.

Sing along if you know the words�

Jailhouse Rock


(words & music by Jerry Leiber - Mike Stoller)


The warden threw a party in the county jail.
The prison band was there and they began to wail.
The band was jumpin' and the joint began to swing.
You should've heard those knocked out jailbirds sing.
Let's rock, everybody, let's rock.
Everybody in the whole cell block
was dancin' to the Jailhouse Rock.
Spider Murphy played the tenor saxophone,
Little Joe was blowin' on the slide trombone.
The drummer boy from Illinois went crash, boom, bang,
the whole rhythm section was the Purple Gang.
Let's rock, everybody, let's rock.
Everybody in the whole cell block
was dancin' to the Jailhouse Rock.
Number forty-seven said to number three:
"You're the cutest jailbird I ever did see.
I sure would be delighted with your company,
come on and do the Jailhouse Rock with me."
Let's rock, everybody, let's rock.
Everybody in the whole cell block
was dancin' to the Jailhouse Rock.
The sad sack was a sittin' on a block of stone
way over in the corner weepin' all alone.
The warden said, "Hey, buddy, don't you be no square.
If you can't find a partner use a wooden chair."
Let's rock, everybody, let's rock.
Everybody in the whole cell block
was dancin' to the Jailhouse Rock.
Shifty Henry said to Bugs, "For Heaven's sake,
no one's lookin', now's our chance to make a break."
Bugsy turned to Shifty and he said, "Nix nix,
I wanna stick around a while and get my kicks."
Let's rock, everybody, let's rock.
Everybody in the whole cell block
was dancin' to the Jailhouse Rock.

harlemrain at 2:07 am

previous | next