Friday, Jun. 11, 2004

This here's my wife who used to be my step-cousin once removed and this here's our sons Billy Bob and Little Ed

My Grandma Etta (Captain Poopy pant's mom) turned 85 today.

To celebrate we had dinner with Poopy pants' niece Juneilda, her husband Jim, and their youngest Son Justin who's a little older than me.

These are about the only people I'm realted to somehow that I'd be proud to call my family.

Junelida is one of the kindest people I have ever met in my life. She always has something nice to say and when she says it you can tell it's a genuine comment. No shit behind it at all.

They seem to be the only people in his family that Captain Popy pants likes to see too.

He seems to come alive around them. He was like a completely different person at times tonight.

Talk talk talk talk talkin talkin talk. It was like he was on speed!

Mom and I had to pauses several times to ask each other if we were both seein the same guy.

We spent the whole evening out there talking and having a good time.

Kinda cool now to be one of the big people. People actually wanna talk to me and hear what I have to say.

I felt bad though cause we didn't get Grandma a gift.

I kow that's not the whole point of a get together for a birthday and the last thing an 85 year old woman going into a retirement home needs is more junk to get ride of, but I don't like showing up with just a card.

Cards are a big deal to me, but I know that the rest of the world doesn't seem to give a flying flip about a card. It's just a name tage for the gift with some catchy phrase on it.

I like to pick cards that mean something, I someones do take hours if I have to to find the card that says the right thing for the person I'm giving it too.

But as I mentioned, I've learned that no one else really does that, so to just show up with a card is kinda like saying "I stopped at the grocery store for some stuff and while getting toilet paper I passed the card isle and remembered your birthday."

Finding a card for my adopted grandma gets tricky.

Cards for grandmas seem to have a theme of "You're the memory keeper of our family" or stuff to that effect, well I've only known Grandma Etta since I was about 10, yes that's still half my life, but thats the later half when I was starting not spend so much time with grandparents. I've also never seen Grandma for more than a short while at a time. So the whole "all my best memories are with you in the kitchen making cookies" theme doesn't really fit here.

I finally found one I liked and wrote a note to thank her for being my adopted grandma and told her how much I love her.

I felt a little awkward giving it to her infront of her real granddaughter, but I wanted to tell her how I feel so yeah, that's that.

She didn't open her cards until she got home, but she did call Ernie's cellphone while we were on the way home and thanked me and told me that she loved me just as much. So that was a great thing. Good feeling.

Great, I'm gonna cry.

It's fun being a girl.

The only off moment of the night happened just after we had left Jim and Juneilda's.

Ernie asked me if Justin was hot.

Yes he actually said "Is he uh..hot?"

I wouldn't have minded this as much if Grandma hadn't been in the car with us.

Lawdy Lawdy...

Ever since I was frist introduced to them like 9 or 10 years ago, Grandma Etta has been trying to hook me up with one of em.

Cue Dueling Banjos here.

She's always always ALWAYS doing this. "Gee Lauren aren't those boys just so handsome??"

Then tonight after Ernie asked me f Justin was hot Grandma happily exclaimed "I noticed he was sure checking Lauren out tonight!"

My step-dad, bless his half elecrtic heart, he tried to safe me.

"No he wasn't"

"Yes he was!"

"Mom...no he wasn't!"

"Yes he was!"

"Not!"

"Was!"

Luckily we started laughin at them argueing and it was dropped.

For the record, I have friggin hot step-cousins.

Woooo

But it runs in their family, Juneilda is a very very pretty lady and their daddy has very class handsome young Paul Newman-ish features.

Very pretty family.

But I'm not marrying into them.

Ew.

harlemrain at 11:30 pm

previous | next