Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005

Feels Like Home

So, when I first started unpacking and making myself a new Lastralia here in the former attic of our new house in Ohio I found myself grumbling here and there about how it doesn't really matter what it's like because realistically I won't be here but maybe 2 or 3 years.

Everytime I made that note to myself, something in the pit of my stomach, where my gut feelings and intutions seem to lie, would ping ever so lightly, as if it say, "Something about that statement isn't completely true."

Today I finally recieved my information for Bowling Green University (BGU) and as I scanned the infor on a Music History Degree I discovered several things that could be potential set backs in my plan to be a brilliant Music Historian.

For starters you have to basically start out in something else and show you have a knack, so to speak, for Music History and then ask nicely to make that your new major.

There's also a note that says, all music majors, including history it seems, have to audition.

"What's that mean Lauren?" You may ask.

That means that Lauren may be royally fucked because she doesn't play an instrument and never wanted to take instrument classes in college.

I realize this is odd, being my unmeasureable love for music and how amazing I think it would be to make beautiful music myself. This issue is having to be in a band.

No offence to anyone who was/is in a school band. More power to you, I say. It's just not my thing. I tried it and hated it. In fact the only thing I hated more than band was choir.

When it comes to learning an instrument (and math) I need a one on one situation. I tend to be impatient and hard on myself and being slow to learn this kind of stuff doesn't help one bit.

I suppose if an instrument is required I may have to search for a guitar instructor or possibly take up the piano.

Until I could play I'd probably major in psychology and take what music classes I could handle along with my required classes.

Another point I found, this is what ties into my gut feelings, is that basically getting the degree is four years of music classes. Meaning instead of the two or three years I planned one, I'd have four (obviously).

This would have bothered me before we moved, but as time has gone on, I've become so eager to have my music degree and the chance to figure out what to do with it, that four years doesn't seem like much.

I've also realized that while Ohio is still foreign and, in someways, strange to me, this house has slowly but surely won me love and become my first real home in about ten years.

I realized that this evening as I was hanging a Bon Jovi poster in my office. It felt amazing to feel I was home.

Ohio may have a chance with me yet.

harlemrain at 12:07 am

previous | next