Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004

You Talk Too Much

My step-father seems to be going out of his way to be an asshole lately.

He's twice as loud, twice as talkitive, twices as crass and rude, and just generally more of a being than he needs to be.

I honestly don't think this has to do with just my habit of being irritable 50% of the time because mom's been flipping him off behind his back and giving him looks more than I have.

They're going car shopping tomorrow. Like we really new a new vehical right now, we can't get a tredmill because we might move, but they're possibly getting a brand new automobile.

Mom recieved a letter from the dealship who leased them her car saying something about wanting to buy her car early or something earlier this week and since then he's been talking non-stop about buying a damn car.

I'm flattered he values my opinion and I understand that he askes me because I'm part of the family and all that jazz, but I have said time and time again, I really don't give a rats ass what car they buy.

If you want a van get a van, SUV, knock yourself out, mini cooper, pip pip cheerio ol mates, ice cream truck, cool beans, I'd like a red,white, and blue rocket pop please.

I honestly do not care here.

I'm not saying that to be rude, or that because I don't care about it it's stupid. I'm just not all the concerned with it. I don't like car shopping, I don't really understand why he feels the need to do it so frequently, and I really don't think my opinion is all that important in the car my mom drives.

I'm not into all the whistles and bells, I'm happy with my "manual" windows and locks, and very simple designed car. It has wheels, windows, desent gas mileage, has never given me too much trouble, and bouces back from minor fender bumps and scrapes, it's all I care about in a car.

I have my own car, I'm rarely in the car with them anymore because we don't go anywhere together all that often.

If anything mom's the one hwo really needs ot like what they get because it's her car they're trading.

They've decided to spend the majority of the day out shoping tomorrow while I stay home and do homework (see, that how much I don't care about this, I'm doing homework rather than going).

They had things all planned out and then all of a sudden he wants to go at the ass crack of dawn, as if all the cars will be gone after noon or something.

I have an appointment (since two months ago) to get my hair colored and he starts suggesting tha I be sent alone so my mom can go with him.

I wouldn't mind if I didn't kow that my hour with her at the beauty shop is going to be the only hour I'll see her this weekend alone.

Hair and nails is Mom and Lauren time.

I hardly ever see her without him close behind. Those few hours a month are the only tumes I can talk to her without hearing him going:

"What?" "Why do I care about this?" "Sarcasm is wasted on me..." "Are you talking to me?"

I just wish for one evening he'd shut the fuck up.

Shits "wasted" on you because it's NOT MEANT FOR YOU...

If someone's saying something that seems odd to be directed at you, maybe you should take a second and look to see who else is in the room and realize, "gee, maybe those people are having a conversastion I'm not a part of because it has nothing to do with me what so ever."

I'm also tired of being accused of talking about him everytime I speak to my mom in the other room.

Get the fuck over yourself, believe it or not, you're not the center of the known universe. There are three people in this house and they don't always have to be in a three person conversation.

I let you talk to mom, do me the same curtosy. It's really not that hard.

You wanna know why I don't talk to you on a one on one basis very often?

Because I get tired of hearing you talk.

I get to the point that your voice, your loud, shouting over the Tv you never turn down voice, makes me want to split out of my skin.

I also never have anything to say to you, because it gets said when you butt into my conversations with mom.

You know I love you, and believe it or not as a rule I like you, but I don't understand why you have to be this way.

Silence isn't a bad thing. In fact at times it is necessary.

Please, just give us some peace and quiet. Just one evening of it.

One nice, quiet, pleasant evening.

...

Don't get me wrong baby I don't mean to complain,

but if you keep on talking you're gonna drive me insane

You keep on talking all around the clock,

I'm begging you baby won't you please stop

You talk too much,

I can't believe the things that you say everyday

If you keep on talking baby,

you know you're bound to drive me away

harlemrain at 2:31 am

previous | next