Friday, Apr. 11, 2003

Gonna be serious for a moment

I just had lunch with my dad.

As usual we both struggled to find something of common interest to talk about.

For some reason he decided politics were a good idea.

Politics aren't something Like to to dwell on and get all excited over. I just don't.

I don't agree with the whole two party, my party, your party, his party, her party, we all have a party, thing.

I agree that we should all have a hand in selceting the leader of our nation, but I also believe that no matter who is chosen, as Americans, we have a duty to stand behind our leader.

I don't know enough about everything thats happened in the past and all the things exactly that led was to have war, all I know is where there and kids my age are fighting and dying along with parents, brothers, sister, husbands, wives, and people from every walk of life.

No one that I know wants a war.

But was war the only solution in this case...I don't know.

I don't know if I "support" this war, but I do know that I completely support the men and women who are fighting in on our behalf and I pray that it's over soon and they return home safely.

Our family got lucky, my Uncle Bob was called active but instead of being sent in to give orders on the field, he's training soldiers here.

Yes he away from his family and they miss him a lot and we all worry about the possibility he could be sent out, but we know that he'll come home from Colorado... we couldn't really be sure he'd come home to us from Iraq, and thats scary.

My heart goes out to family members who have to live with this feeling. I hope you find comfort somehow and your soldier(s) come home to you soon.

harlemrain at 3:14 pm

previous | next