Thursday, Jun. 12, 2003

I'm so weak and sad

Hello my name is Lauren and I have a sickness for book stores.

So here I am all kinds of excited about all my wonder Leppard journies this summer.

I've decided not to ask for crap while I'm home cause I know all my travels aren't cheap, especially when mom says you have blah amount of hundres of dollars in your acount, get yourself something at the show...

Luckily my mom knows me and planned for me to get several somethings at the show.

Well my plan on being wantless at home aint workin out so well.

I could be responsible and take the blame here and admit that I am a spoild only child who does what I can when I can get away with it...but I don't think I want to do that...

I could blame my father figures, but my grandpas are the bee knees, and my dad would be happy with some drawling and a card, and poopy pants would seize the opportunity to hint that no body loves him...

So I blame who ever it was that came up with father's day.

Yeah I know we need to show apprecitation to father's, but whose idea was it to make it just one day where you have to go out and buy gifts and make a fuss. Dudes already have birthdays.

I do my best to show them I love 'em all the time (tho a few make it harder than others...)but I am one of those sappy people who make a fuss on fathers day.

I take hours to find the right card and then days to decide on the perfect gift and most of the time I don't even know if they even like it.

It's the thought that counts tho...I guess.

Anyway, I go to Boarders on a mission.

CD for daddy, Book for poopy pants and see if they have a book grandpa might like.

First I past the journals, for some reason I have this strange need to collect journals. I rarely write in them, I have every intention to when i buy them, but never do. Journals and pens, I have like a cagillion pens...

I find one for about 4 dollars that hard back and figure this would be spiffy for my Leppard Trek memories.

I then find the DVDs, I always have to check out the music DVDs to make sure the Heart DVD I've been watching for a few months now is still there.

While walking away something caught my eye...

Could it be...

EEEEE!!! Freddie Mercury Tribute concert!!!

I've been looking for this sucker forever.

I call mom, I better ask before I drop 25 bucks on this thing...

She says yes, I set out to get what I'm looking for, gifts for fathers not the Lauren...

I find all the stuff I'm looking for, CD, Yogi Berra book and a couple cats books for grandpa. I stop off to get a card for my great-grandpa Bever when the magazine rack catchs my eye...

I also have an odd fetish for magazines...I'm gonna have to clean some out this summer....

I got weak, felt sick to my stomach, but had to give in and by the Classic Rock Magazine with Queen on the cover and the Blender with Duran Duran coverage...

*sigh*

I'm such a sad, weak person...

I have every intention of making it up.

Gonna vacuum tomorrow and fold my laundry so mom can have her baskets back and offer to pay her back for my magazines.

harlemrain at 5:20 pm

previous | next