Friday, Feb. 09, 2007

Drabble

So, in the interest of not just being a ranty whiner pants when I log in over here (believe it or not, I'm not really THAT fussy all the time) here's a bit of random and hopefully something lighter... or something.

I'm tired, but my brain seems ot be functioning alright as I work to get through the school day. One more class and I'm free for the weekend.

I need to do some serious cleaning and washing my the laundry or I may just have to try out the life of a nudist next week, because I'm seriously pushing the limits now with my day old socks (ew Lauren, ew). Way to be a college student huh?

I have this habit of writing snipts for movies in my head. I think if I could ever truly focus myself, some day, just maybe I could write a desent story or book. Or not... who knows...still, I like to stroke my ego in that direction anyway and say I could.

I'm fond of the first person point of view and movies where the main character narrates for you, maybe just inthe opening to give you that first deep look into their mind or sometimes it's need through out to keep the focus of the story.

My stories tend to be narrated in my head with a Scottish or English accent. Lately it's been Scottish... very Ewan McGregor. I haven't watched Trainspotting in about a million Sunday's, so I have no idea why, but yeah, my brain is currently Scottish.

I narrated this for myself while hiking to class this morning. It's still bone cramping cold here, but luckily the wind has died down.

P.S. Not spell checked.

"The got out of the car and looked ahead at the mixed era buildings. I suppose had I been in a better mood I would have marvled at the different looks of each building and the history they hold. Today I was just pissed off they stood where a nice sized student parking lot could be. Pedesterain campus my arse.

It took a good five minutes to get myself properly bundled up for the cold. Long scarf wrapped around my neck up to my ears, itchy wool cap pulled down and folded up in the front to avoid blinding me, coat all buttoned up, everything situated before I pulled on my gloves. You can never feel or grip anything properly after you put the gloves on, so they have ot be last, otherwise you have to keep taking them off and it all becomes an even bigger pain the arse.

As I started on, I wondered if all the bundling was really worth it. With no wind, the cold wasn't too bad. Granted being about to say that it being 12 degrees outside isn't "too bad" is effed up all on it's own.. but still, it wasn't bad.

I walked past the cementary and noted that the snow still covered most of the graves. It'll be awhile before I can see who lies on this side. Last semester I grew to know several of the names I pasted daily. There's a big contrast in the two sides of the cemetery, the far side being the older cites with smaller head stones and dates going back to the 1800s. Lots of children, always made me sad to pass the children's stones.

This is is new, not as full. Why you would want to be buried in a cemetery inthe middle of a college campus is beyond me. Unless of course you plan to haunt people.

Mental note, if feeling vengful on my death bed, think about being buried here. Lots of people to haunt.

Half way to the building, I'm glad I took the time to bundle up. It's fucking cold outside. 12 degrees is far from not too bad.

I get closer and I swear the walk up to the front door is getting longer as my face go numb. If I didn't have glasses I could cover my face with a scarf, but God made me cross eyed as a baby, so I'm stuck with a frozen face.

I look around and see only a few people. I'm early enough to miss the rush between classes. Always nice. Thats a highlight in my day as sad as it is.

On the news once I saw a man who won the lottery. Bernard Sanders. They asked Bernard how it felt to be a millionaire and he repiled in a dead pan drawl, "Doesn't matter much to me as long as it feels different that being regular."

Aye Bernard. Aye."

harlemrain at 1:47 pm

previous | next