Sunday, Feb. 13, 2005

Chia Pig

When I was about 8 the Wicked Witch of the North (a.k.a the step-monster)'s mom gave me a Chia Pet for Christmas.

This was during a time when the Chia pet was all the rage and everyone had them.

My Chia pet excited me because it meant I would have a plant of my very own to grow.

I begged and begged and begged and begged and begged and begged and begged for someone to help me plant it.

After months of begging my dad hid it so I'd forget about it.

When he moved a few years later he sent all of my stuff from his house over to my moms and I again had my Chia pet.

I wasn't as interested in it now so it was packed away and forgotten again.

I found it when I moved back inw ith my dad my Freshman year of High School. I spent the next four years wishing I could plant it, but I didnt ahve anywhere to put it that I culd ensure it's safety.

When I moved back in with my mom two years ago I pulled it out and set it out so I'd remember to plant it.

Well my poor little Chia pig never got planted. He sits here completely nakkied.

Isn't that just sad?

I'm planning to get him planted this weekend, but now I'm curious. Just how long to Chia pet plant seeds last?

Are my seeds gonna be duds now?

It'd be even sadder to get him all slathered up in a gooey mess of seeds and what not and get him all hopeful that he's gonna grow somethin finally just to have the seeds be duds.

I suppose I'll find out.

If they don't work I suppose I could just go find some new ones at a plant store or somethin... my luck I'll have to do thata nyway cause Chia Pet seeds are probably some type of Rag weed and when it blooms I'm gonna ned up on big rashed out snot ball.

With that thought an Ode to my Chia Pig.

Chia Pig

By Lauren

Chia Pig oh Chi- Chi- Chia Pig

With out seeds you're not very big

12 years without planting

Words of hope I'll now be chanting

I hope you grow, I hope you grow

Please make no need of my nose to blow

harlemrain at 2:02 am

previous | next