Monday, Sept. 01, 2003

Shopping and my daddy and me

I would like to thank God, karma, good juju, fate, timing or what ever it was the took over my day around 3 this afternoon.

Kim got here around 2:30, I was still grumpy, but did my usually quite mode and just listened to her talk, smiling politely and commently when required.

I know my dad hurt his back, and I actually wasn't mad at him or really Kim, I was really pissed at what ever forces were screwing this day up.

We got to the mall and I went straight for the torture section more commonly known as Juniors.

I'll pause here for a moment to leave a note for the sadistic bastards that tell the little mexican and chinese children how to make clothing.... NOT ALL YOUNG WOMEN ARE PAPER DOLLS!! IF YOU'RE GOING OT FORCE ME TO SHOP IN THE MISSES SECTION GIVE ME SOME DESENT CHOICES!!!!

*ahem*

I actually found some really nice clothes today and Kim was a lot of help.

I told her I was looking for some nicer jeans/pants since I already have new blue jeans and I would like a nice jean skirt.

As for tops I figured I outta own something besides a t-shirt for once in my life so I went for more trendier looking clothes.

Much to my suprise I didn't burst into flames in the dressing room while trying them on... Lord be praised...

Kim found both my shirts based on what I showed her I liked and didnt like.

I got a pretty plum striped dress shirt and a more casual brown and green striped on that looks like you're wearing a white dress shirt under it.

I also go some loafers...I never thought I'd wear somethin on my feet that has the same name as a slang for human excrament...

Anyhoo, I guess I didn't realize that Kim had no idea that I always dress the way she sees me dress.

I don't dress up, I really have no need to and in the past found it uncomfortabe cause my clothes were pretty much picked fo rme and my grandma likes to dress me like a fat, for ever virgin, church group corrodinating, retro Elvis groupie reject.

The clothes I got today I'll probably actually wear.

Only thing is, if I like dressin like this I'll need to go back and shopp again cause I only have like a handful of things that are nice...

I dunno. We'll see how it goes.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

On an even bright note I had my dad basically to myself for almost four hours today.

He couldnt take me shopping because he forgot that the cool wet weather usually causes his back to act funny so he threw it out trying to clean his garage.

So really I was disapointed he didn't take me shoping, I knew it wasn't he fault and he did sound let down himself when he called me this morning to let me know.

I was tempted to tell him to forget and we could do it another day, but he said that he was looking forward to seeing me and he sounded like my daddy.

I probably would have cried if I hadn't have been half asleep still.

So I went with Kim, ended up having a fairly good shopping trip (for those of you who didn't read the top of the entry, this is your only recap, there will be a test...)and when we got home dad was feelin well enough to move around a bit.

He liked what I bought, even said I'd look cute in it and he wanted to see me when I wore it.

He suggested me going down there for dinner on Mondays...I'm thinking about trying that.

Like going over after school or something, I dunno, just to see if there is something else I can do before giving up.

Anyhoosit, Ashely was outside most of the time playing with some snotty little girl who lives next door and Megan was up in her room playing with some string game she had while Kim went back to her house cleaning so I got to sit with my dad and watch the last hour and a half of the "I LOve the 70's" series on VH1.

I helped him with the little bit he did with dinner and set the table and stuff so he didnt have to bend so much and for once ate roast.

Yes me eating roast is a serious thing. For one thing its beef and two it's roast.

I have never ever ever ever liked roast.

My grandpa Crow makes it all the time and every damn time he dries the meat out to dust and leaves the fat all gooey and buggery snot like. It's beyond revolting... for years my mom never made roast (even though she loves her own) cause she never figured I'd eat it.

Well once when I was like 10 she made one. My mom's a great cook and she spoils me a bit more than most moms cause she'll try to cook stuff she knows her picky ass kid will eat.

Well unfortunately Grandpa's roast had scarred me too much and I couldn't ever eat it.

I'd eat the potatoes and get down a teeny tiny itty bitty teeny weenie bit of meat but that was about it.

Kim's a pretty good cook too, she makes everything really different from my mom tho, so now after 19 years of knowing what I do and dont like I'm having to try things all over again.

So I tried some roast and ended up having thirds.

I feel like an ingrate now tho cause I don't eat my mom's but I eat Kim's...it's like I cheating on momma's cooking...I feel so dirty...

Well I fgured I'd get the usual rush home after dinner, but I didn't.

Ashley went back out, this time with Megan in tow, Kim went back to her laundry and I got another almost two whole hours with me and my daddy.

Just like we used to do, we watched a few of the shows we used to watch when I lived with him, he asked me how my stomach stuff was doing and seemed to understand that I'm not trying to be sick.

It was wonderful. I wanna cry from how good I feel now.

I had my daddy to myself for like 4 hours.

Thats all I really need, to kow he's there with me. When he asked me questions or made comments he was interested in what I had to say.

He says he wants to take me out to lunch sometime this week, so I hope that happens.

Now I have to get my crap ready for school tomorrow. What a shitey way to end a nice day. Thinking about school... Bleck.

harlemrain at 10:03 pm

previous | next