Thursday, Aug. 12, 2004

My stitches, my birthday, my week today on "The Young and the Senseless"

Well I was trying to see if I could get all my pictures doing what I wanted before I started on this entry, but since I�m still tired and don�t feel like doing much work you get the verbal/written/typed/whatever the heck you wanna call it part of it all first. Pictures when I get them done in a part two sorta thing.

My surgery went well�so to speak. Cledus came out without problem and I�m currently stitched up with a bandage and immobilized finger that�s driving me crazy.

What didn�t go so well what the Lauren�s reaction to the whole situation. First off I didn�t sleep the night before, I knew I wouldn�t be able to so I just stayed up watching TV. Secondly, anesthesia doesn�t do so well with my inner control freak/ baby self. It makes me bawl like the heavens did when God flooded the earth.

I first freaked out when I found out that I was going to have to be in a hospital bed. After all the fantastic experiences I had with my gallbladder stuff I have some major issues with hospital beds and IVs. So I was trembling when I got into the bed clutching my triple X sized hospital gown around me.

They then proceeded to shoot the Lauren full of drugs. I�m wondering if they didn�t start to OD me since I made a point to list on my forms that I have no pain tolerance what so ever. We tried telling people this before and they didn�t seem to listen, so this time we decided to put it in writing and this it was taken to heart. I got two or three shots of stuff during the 30 minutes or so I was in pre-op. I also got two huge all shot of deadener in my armpit that left me with knots in my muscles you can still feel (that shite hurts like a bee-otch, I still can�t lift my arm completely).

I was doing my best to control the crying and had it down to small whimpers and in the operating room was give one or two more shots of stuff to �help me relax�. I�m guessing they didn�t think about the fact that some females just get lucky enough to cry on this stuff.

The surgery�s hazy; I have bits and pieces I can remember but what freaked me out more what when the adrenaline pumping through me from my already freaking out and all the drugs in my system cause my legs to start trembling so bad that I, in my hazy state, thought I was having a seizure.

It was finally about 15 or 20 minutes after I got out of surgery and was sitting in the post-op area and finally had my momma back that I managed to tame my tears and was feeling pretty good, my whole arm was numb so I didn�t feel any pain there and all the drugs had me feeling very little else where.

My mom took off to watch me since that�s what responsible people are supposed to do when having been under anesthesia for 24-48 hours. Since was numb we decided to go ahead and run some what errands we could before my arm awoke and began to hurt. I ended up with lots of swelling because of sling�s too big and I couldn�t feel my arm to know it wasn�t up like it should have been, my fingers looked like bratwursts and my hand throbbed all night.

My arm was sore till about Tuesday and my armpit still hurts when my arm�s raised, but overall I�m glad I did it and hope I never have to do it again.

My birthday would have been better spent at home with my mommy as that�s where I really wanted to be. I wonder if I�ll be 46 years old and still want my mommy when I get hurt or sick�probably will. The first part of the day went fairly well, mom took me to get my hair dyed (very pretty shade of pink) and dad and Kim picked me up for a movie.

I highly recommend everyone who loves a good romance story go see The Notebook it�s amazing.

Things then proceeded to go down hill when we went back to their house to get the girls. The girls are always fussing and whiney after spending time with their dad so why the hell they were taken into public with us is waaaay beyond me. We had Japanese and as usual they refused to try or like anything and bitched loudly through the entire meal. One the way home Megan just couldn�t understand the words �Do not touch me� and continuously touched my throbbing arm. Finally I said something loud enough to cue Kim to tell her to stop. Finally when Ashley and Megan started fighting and Ashley shoved Megan, throwing her into my arm with then slammed m hand into the doorway, I decided I was done.

I suffered through three more hours there and proceeded to come home and cry uncontrollably while my mom stayed me with until I fell asleep.

My week at the grand folks was fairly uneventful, my grandpa has some new kitties in the junk pile one�s about a year old with interesting tabby and calico markings and another little teeny tiny tortoiseshell kitten who looks a lot like the Baz.

I spent an afternoon trying to convince her I wasn�t as scary as she thought I was, but she didn�t seem to agree.

I felt bad but I basically wished I had stayed home all week, I was achy, tired and just wanted to see my mom. My grandpa felt bad off and on all week too so really we just hung around and watched TCM.

Now I�m home and wishin it wasn�t so late in the summer, I have like two weeks before I have to go back to school and have yet to have a decent week of summer heat.

Not that I want to world to burn to a crisp, I just happen to be a summer baby who needs the summer heat.

Pfffffffff, I�m still exhausted. I thinking I�m fighting a bug of some kind my stomach�s been acting amuck (amuck amuck amuck) and I�ve been fatigued all week, just feeling yucky.

I long for Friday and getting this damn bandaged removed. It was nice getting the extra attention the first few days but now its just an itchy, smelly, rotting paint in the arse. Ew.

I�ve worked on this entry for the past three nights if that gives you any idea how tired I am and how much of nuisance this stinking bandage is.

Soooo how was your week?

harlemrain at 2:27 am

previous | next