Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005

The proof is in the soap opera

Now this is the Kansas winter I remember.

Yesterday brought probably a good solid inch or two of ice down on everything.

Including our powerines and the trees around the powerlines. We lost power last night around 7 just as I was cooking my pizza in the electric oven and mom and I were in the middle of stuff we needed to get done to move.

I sorted CDs by flashlight and listened as the Captain told mom to check stuff he was worried about, God forbid he should have to get out of bed in a house that had lost a whole 5 degrees in warmth, and she did that and sorted her bathroom.

I did quite a bit without the lights, but it was still a pain in the butt and I wasn't looking forward to the possibility of my jeans sitting in watch in the washer all night and molding. I talk about my big butt, I rather not have a big, smelly, green butt.

Today we have about an inche of now on top of all the ice and this morning it looked like the world had gone into hiding.

It was pretty, very serene.

Now I can hear the obnoxious neighbor kids hollaring and the occasional car.

Ha ha punks still had to start back at school today.

Pfffft.

I'm finally going to rid myself of most of my magazines and figure out some way to get to the trash can without falling down.

It's amazing how much crap can be stored in one bathroom drawer, let alone four.

I feel so tidy after I clean all this stuff out.

To bad it takes a major move to make me do all this stuff.

I keep saying to myself that I'm going to maintain this clean when I get moved and settled in, but I dunno if I should make any promises yet.

I had an oddly fascinating dream this morning.

We moved into our house, only it was way bigger than I remember it being.

I started in my area which was now an apartment with a full working kitchen, a fridge with a glass door and a set up like you'd see in a hotel or something (drinks set up in a fancy design, high priced tiny snacks on trays on the lower rack) and a look about it that was very early 80s chic.

It was like I was living in the bungalo above the stables at South Fork on Dallas.

What was strange was I found dirty dishes and a plate of half eaten food that looked fairly fresh.

When I looked inthe sink I saw I had a grabage disposal, but there was a spoon and some fairly fresh (if you can call em that) Spaghetti O's lodged in it.

Someone was using my supposedly empty swanky pad!

So I went to find my mom and discovered I had two doors to choose from to go into the main house. I only saw a crack of light behind the first door before the secdond oor opened to reveal a grand marble staircase that lead down t the biggest room I have ever seen in my life.

The ceilings must have been 25 feet high and the floord were checked black and while marble, you know like the cheap vinyl stuff you can buy in rolls at Home Depot and people always seeen to think looks spectacular in their basements, with stretching dark wood walls that meet at the grand archway that seperated the enterance of the house and the formal living room for thearea where all the stairs met and led to the kitchen.

I was in the process of ooing and awing over the three fire places in the front room and all the old paintings, wondering where the hell all this stuff came from and further more why it was in my family's house when my mom found me and asked if something was wrong.

Well first off the swanky South Fork stable pad is nice but why the hell am I being left out of Buckingham Palace?

I didn't mention any of that, actually all I could manage was "This is bigger than I remember."

She smiled and nodded.

I then explained the discovered dirty dishes and that the kitchen basically looked like someone was useing it fairly regularly.

She followed me up and looked around and decided that it wasnt that big of a deal and some cleaning people she'd called in for a last once over of the house would take care of it and she'd call the previous owner and ask him "what the hell his problem was".

I shrugged it off and went about my thing.

It was later while I was trying to sleep ( my dreams have time like sitcoms, a day goes by in less than five minutes) that I noticed someone climbing into bed with me.

I rolled over to find a guy who was three years older (I just knew, in my dreams I just know weird crap like that) sound asleep.

I tapped his shoulder and asked him if he slept there often.

He mumbled in his sleep, so I shook him til I saw his eyes open.

He looked slightly confused by my presence. I waved and asked him if he knew he was sleeping in ahouse owned by people he didn't know.

It was explained that he had been living there with permission of the previous owners and aparently that didn't care to let him know they'd sold the house.

Things get a little foggy here for me, but basically it was agreed he coud stay with me and we lived together, slept together (O_O, Lauren's into dudes!!! Just thought I'd throw that in, I know of few f you are saying that to yourselves thinking you're a real laugh riot, keep laughin you bastages, just keeep laughin), and a year past (that takes a little longer than a day) and we grew closer together and I saw bits and pieces of happenings that led up to us deciding to get married.

Soooooooo what could all this mean?

I'm all about some good symbolism, but hey why try to analyze that obvious?

I'm obviously going to move and within the next year live with some hot guy in a swaky South Fork-esque pad and get married next year.

Look for your invitations next year sometime.

harlemrain at 2:51 pm

previous | next